World Championship Aerobatics and
  British Aerobatic Association Teams abroad
The 2013 Unlimited and
Advanced British Teams

Setting the scene ...
The WAC - World Aerobatic Championships (unlimited Power) - are biennial events, and are run in alternate years to AWAC - the Advanced World Aerobatic Championships. Both championships are open to teams nominated by national organising bodies such as the BAeA in the UK and the IAC (International Aerobatic Club) in the Americas. The WAC are open only to unlimited level pilots flying single engine propeller driven aircraft, whilst the Advanced championships are restricted generally to advanced pilots and there is also a list of eligible aircraft. The WGAC - World Glider Aerobatics Championships - are similarly biennial events and are open to nominated teams flying in the glider 'unlimited' class. These championships are organised by the FAI, the Federation Aeronautique Internationale who are the world governing body for all air sports. Every two years or so the FAI also organise a World Air Games, a sort of aerial Olympics where all air sports are represented. The first of these was held in 1997 in Turkey - in 2001 the WAG will be held in the Andalucia region in Spain, incorporating WAC at Burgos and WGAC at Cordoba.
Few sports can be as physically and mentally demanding as competition aerobatics. Sequences must be flown with split-second timing, precise speed and altitude control. Uncontrollable variables such as wind and temperature changes all have to be considered, requiring dexterity of mind and precise continuous planning on the pilot's part. A wrong turn, miscalculation of wind strength, or the slightest disorientation, could put the pilot out of the running. World Championship aerobatics pushes to the physical limits of the human body, with the tremendous 'G' (gravitational) forces are commonly experienced in modern aerobatic aircraft - in a typical unlimited sequence the pilot may pull up to 10G and push perhaps to -8G for very short periods.
Sequences are flown within a 1,000 metre aerial cube, commonly known as the "Box". The height and base of this box vary according to competition level - for unlimited sequences the top will be 1,100 metres AGL (above ground level) and the base 100 metres AGL. Contestants will fly three sequences - firstly, a 'Known' or internationally accepted pre-published qualifying sequence at which 60% or more must be scored to 'qualify'; secondly a 'free' or pilot designated sequence, and then one or more 'unknown' compulsory sequences that are not even seen by the pilots until after the first two sequences have been completed. These latter will often be the most complex and difficult sets of figures flown during the competition. A non-compulsory 4-minute 'Freestyle' will usually follow and will be adjudicated as a separate competition.
Each sequence, comprising up to fifteen figures, is adjudicated by a team of up to ten judges who determine how each individual figure was executed. Consideration is also given to the sequence's positioning within the box. All figures if perfectly flown, will have a mark of ten, and judges will reduce this having considered the precision of lines and angles, symmetry of the figures, and other factors.
In 1996, the World Aerobatic Championships was hosted in Oklahoma, USA. The Smithsonian Institute's Air & Space magazine hosted a comprehensive website to provide information on the history the World Aerobatic Championship. That website is still available and serves as a valuable archive to support current championships. We have distilled the information above from this site and recommend you visit their website using the links below if you want to know more about Aerobatic Championships. We also recommend, if you want to follow current and future championships, that you bookmark this page. We will be posting regular bulletins about British Team participation in future years and will provide further links as they are announced.
  Past British Team Diaries
2007 World Aerobatic Championships,
Grenada, Spain
2007 World Glider Aerobatic
Championships, Niederöblarn, Austria
2007 European Advanced Aerobatic
Championships, Joensuu, Finland
2006 European Aerobatic Championships
Grenschen, Switzerland
2006 Advanced World Aerobatic
Championships, Radom, Poland
2006 World Glider Aerobatic
Championships, Rybnik, Poland
2005 World Aerobatic
Championships, Burgos, Spain
2005 World Glider Aerobatic
Championships, Serpuchov, Russia
2005 Advanced European Championships
Hradec Králové
, Czech Republic
2004 European Aerobatic
Championships, Kaunas, Lithuania
2004 European Glider Aerobatic Champs
Moravska Trebova, Czech Republic
2004 Advanced World Aerobatic
Championships, Ljungbyhed, Sweden
2003 World Aerobatic
Championships, Lakeland, USA
2003 Advanced European Aerobatic
Championships, Kalsborg, Sweden
2003 Glider Aerobatic
Championships,Pčr, Hungary
2002 European Aerobatic
Championships, Stanioniai, Lithuania
2002 Advanced World Aerobatic Champs
Murska Sobota, Slovenia
2002 European Glider Aerobatic
Championships, Pasewalk, Germany
2001 World Aerobatic
Championships, Burgos, Spain
2001 Advanced European Aerobatic
Championships, Siofok-Kiliti, Hungary
2001 World Glider Aerobatic
Championships, Cordoba, Spain
2000 World Aerobatic
Championships, Muret, France
2000 Advanced World Aerobatic Championships, Germany
1999 Advanced World Aerobatic Championships, Czech Republic
1998 World Aerobatic
1997 Advanced World Aerobatic Championships, Kansas, USA
Aerobatic history
The Smithsonian Institute view



Design and Content Copyright © The British Aerobatic Association Ltd.   Disclaimer
HomeEvents ResultsPoints SequencesSiteUpdateOfficers JudgingPhotos Links For sale
Cut and Paste text into the Google Translation System to translate items on this page